How To Temporarily Deactivate or Permanently Delete Facebook Account
If you are fed up with Facebook or want to stay away from it for any other reason then you better deactivate your Facebook account. Facebook has made it very easy for the users to deactivate their accounts whenever they want. It is very important to know that you have got two options for hiding the Facebook information; one is to deactivate the Facebook account and the other is to permanently delete it.
Temporary Deactivation of Facebook Account
If you want to hide your information from Facebook on temporary basis then the best option is to deactivate your account. If you do not want to show your information like wall, videos, photos, friends etc. on Facebook for some weeks or even for several months then you can easily do it by just following a few steps. When you choose to deactivate your Facebook account temporarily then all your data will remain on the Facebook server but no one will be able to view it. So whenever you want to start using your account again, you can easily activate it and all your profile data will again be alive. After the reactivation, your events or groups cannot be automatically restored so you have to restore them manually.
Permanent Deletion of Facebook Account
If you want to get rid of Facebook on permanent basis then you can easily delete your account from Facebook. Once you have chosen to permanently delete your Facebook account then you will not be able to come back again; all your data like posts, videos, photos etc. will be deleted forever. If you had any pages and fans then they will also be deleted on permanent basis and you will not be able to restore them in any case. If you do not want to delete any of your pages from Facebook in the process of deleting your account then you should make someone else the administrator of your pages so that those pages and their fans remain alive. Before permanently deleting your account, you should download all the important data like your wall, posts, videos, photos and friends’ contacts to your computer desktop so that you may have it whenever required.
Steps Involved in Temporary/Permanent Deactivation/Deletion of Facebook Account
You are required to follow the following steps in order to deactivate/delete your Facebook account:
Login to the Facebook Account
1. Firstly login to your account and click on “Account”
- Navigate to the option of “Account Settings”
- Now click on “Security Settings” and then on “Deactivate Your Account”.
2. Select the Reason
- Select the reason for deactivating/deleting your Facebook account.
- If you want to deactivate on temporary basis then select the option “This is temporary. I’ll be back”.
3. Permanent Deletion
- If you want to delete your account permanently then open the “Facebook Account Deletion Page” and click “Submit”.
- On the next screen, you are required to enter your account password, captcha code and finally click “OK”.
Initially your Facebook account will be deactivated for 14 days. It is due to the security reasons; if you want to reactivate your account within 14 days then you can easily do that by simply logging in to your account and cancelling the deletion request. If you do not login within 14 days then your account will be deleted on permanent basis.